Skip navigation

Trying to install Apache 2.2 and PHP on a Windows 7 x64 system, I got this error:

[crit] (OS 1813)The specified resource type cannot be found in the image file. : master_main: create child process failed. Exiting.

What you have to do is open PHP.ini and go to the bottom of the file and start commenting out extensions.

Basically some of the extensions don’t work, so you have to keep commenting them out until you find the culprit.

Best to keep it to the bare minimum extensions you know you will use..

4 Comments

  1. I’ve been having a nightmarish night with PHP/Apache, I have now downgraded PHP from 5.3.3 to 5.2.14, I got the same error shortly after starting Apache back up and you’re right, commenting out the unnecessary extensions in php.ini does the trick.

    • Ilya
    • Posted October 7, 2010 at 5:20 pm
    • Permalink

    Thanx!

    • Anonymous
    • Posted October 6, 2011 at 7:18 pm
    • Permalink

    good advice my friend, thanks for enlighten the path.
    Long life to the Open source !!!
    germancito

    • Anonymous
    • Posted March 4, 2012 at 7:05 pm
    • Permalink

    I am getting the same exact error, and I don’t know what to do next since the only extention I have in my php.ini file is the one I do need to use :(

    If I comment out “extension=php_mysql.dll” Then Apache fires up and runs with no problem, but I need to use this dll file or else php & mysql won’t work :(

    Anyone have any other suggestions?


Leave a Reply

